CODE is promoting equality through the Digital Equality Awards 2021

Opening for nominations for the Digital Equality awards were launched recently as the awards are set to take place soon hosted by the Coalition for Digital Equality (CODE). The awards recognize individuals and organizations that enable digital skills, innovation and expertise to enhance African women, young people, marginalized communities and groups.

CODE announced the opening for nominations for the inaugural Digital Equality awards in Ghana and Uganda to recognize digital impact makers in order to promote and amplify their work.

Also read: MultiChoice Innovation Fund gives innovators a break

Although digital penetration continues to expand, it has been shown that women have little opportunity to be part of this development. CODE is working towards increasing the digital inclusion of women in digital areas.

The Digital Equality awards will be handed out in various categories

The awards will be handed out under four categories which include: Digital Skills Champion, Digital Inclusion Innovator, Research and Knowledge builder, and Women’s Entrepreneurship and Investment Champion.

1. Digital Skills Champion

The Digital Skills Champion recognizes individuals who are building the human capital and talent pool needed to drive digital transformation and innovation in Africa. The award seeks to acknowledge individuals who are creating impactful opportunities and spaces for women, youth, and marginalized groups to enhance their digital skills through training, workshops, e-Learning, and STEM education programs in Ghana or Uganda.

2. Digital Inclusion Innovator

The Digital Inclusion Innovator recognizes individuals who are using digital innovation, technologies, and entrepreneurship to build a more inclusive society. This award looks to acknowledge innovators in Uganda or Ghana whose solutions are solving pressing social challenges and helping to bridge the digital divide for women, youth, and marginalized groups.

3. Research and Knowledge Builder

The Research and Knowledge builder award recognizes individuals who have championed knowledge building and research that helps to drive digital inclusion as well as enhance digital skills and opportunities for women, youth, and marginalized groups in Ghana or Uganda.

Read also: Nigeria’s Interswitch plans launch of Quickteller Business in Uganda and Kenya

4. Women’s Entrepreneurship & Investment Champion

The Women’s entrepreneurship and Investment champion award recognize individuals who are working to enable women entrepreneurs in Uganda or Ghana to access the support and investment they need to build thriving businesses, particularly within the digital sector.

The awards slated for 17th July 2021 will recognize the efforts of people in Ghana and Uganda trying to push digital integration and transformation limits in Africa. The nominations opened on 27th May 2021 and will close on 27th June 2021.

To submit an entry for the Digital equality awards 2021, go to this link:

Coalition for Digital Equality (CODE) is a network connecting local and global stakeholders to collaborate in addressing the digital gender divide and drive sustainable economic growth in Africa. Currently focused in Uganda and Ghana, CODE connects African innovation hubs, digital skills initiatives, Small and Medium-sized Businesses (SMBs), impact investors and policy makers with UK academic and industry partners.

Read more: Kenyans invent a robotic arm, a life-changing creation for people with disabilities

Read more: Google is investing in Kenya through launch of $10 million funding.

READ: KCB Bank Uganda and Airtel Uganda team up to launch new savings product

Stay on top - Get the daily news in your inbox